Arnotts, Ireland’s Oldest Department Store, Opens Dublin’s Newest Café
Arnotts, Ireland’s oldest and largest department store, this week has unveiled Dublin’s newest café, Mr. White’s.
Located on ground level, next to the Abbey Street entrance, the new eatery and coffee shop is named named after Mr. Andrew White, who co-founded the iconic shopping destination in 1843.
The city centre location, just off Henry Street, makes the new opening the perfect spot to grab breakfast or lunch during the working day, or to settle down at one of the tables or stool style seating in the cosy, traditional space when hunger pangs strike mid-shopping spree.
While the name is a nostalgic nod to the department stores history, Mr White’s has a modern focus on sustainability, offering compostable cups and bags made from recycled paper.
Customers are already sharing their delight with the new cafe:
The store is also home to Clodagh’s Kitchen restaurant on the upper second floor. This restaurant offers a seasonal menu of locally sourced and freshly prepared dishes.
In other cafe related news, the new look Bewley’s Café will reopen next month, just in time for yuletide cheer.
The Grafton Street stalwart originally opened in 1927, but closed its doors in February 2015 to undergo a €12 million makeover. The new and improved café will seat up to 500 people and will include a delicious expanded food offering, with an on-site chocolate factory and bakery.