Two Irish Restaurants Win Big at The World Restaurant Awards

At a prestigious award ceremony held in Paris on 18th February, two Cork restaurants won accolades at The World Restaurant Awards. The World Restaurant Awards were created by IMG in partnership with Joe Warwick and Andrea Petrini to celebrate restaurants as a culture, similar to music, art and theatre.

The Collaboration of the Year award went to Paradiso X Gort na Nain. The collaboration was awarded to Ultan Walsh of Gort na Nain Farm and chef Denis Cotter of Café Paradiso.

This award recognises restaurants who work closely with their suppliers. Dennis and Ultan were in Paris at the ceremony to receive their award in front of their peers. During his acceptance speech, Dennis said; “This is an extraordinary honour for something that we have been working on for 20 years.”

Cork yet another reason to celebrate as Ballymaloe House won the award for Trolley of the Year, recognising its incredible dessert trolley and according to the Restaurant Awards “tableside service should always be in fashion”. Head Pastry Chef JR Ryall has overseen the dessert trolleys array of delicious delights which include freshly baked tarts, seasonal fruits, homemade ice-creams, biscuits, pannacotta and more.

Both JR Ryall and Darina Allen where in attendance to collect their well-deserved award, with Darina commenting; “JR creates the magic on the trolley and I’m the trolley dolly of the year!”. The pair dedicated the award to the late Myrtle Allen. During the evening a tribute was made to prominent members of the food industry who have recently passed, including Myrtle Allen, Anthony Bourdain, Jonathan Gold and Paul Boucse.

Speaking ahead of the awards Joe Warwick said; “Expect The World Restaurant Awards to be conducted with complete integrity and make everyone think about the full gamut of the world’s great restaurants – old and new, from luxury destinations to humble institutions – and what makes them so special”.

Everyone at The Taste would like to congratulate all the winners, especially the two Cork recipients who are flying the flag for Irish food.

For the full list of winners and more information, please visit

You may also like...