TheTaste’s Sarah Glascott Wins Best Breakout Irish Travel Writer at The Travel Media Awards 2018

The Travel Media Awards 2018, in association with Shannon Airport, took place last night at the 5-star Shelbourne Hotel in Dublin, with a number of media and trade in attendance.

Now in their eighth year, the awards are a highlight of the Irish travel industry calendar for both media and trade and call on members of the media to vote for their favourite travel companies.

This year’s awards featured some exciting new categories including Best Luxury Hotel Group, Best Destination Representative, Best Themepark and Best Breakout Irish Travel Writer.

A year after the creation of our Taste Travel section, we are delighted to announce that TheTaste’s Sarah Glascott won the award for Best Breakout Irish Travel Writer.

As these awards are chosen by our peers in the industry, it means even more to us here at TheTaste. We would also like to congratulate Emirates on winning the award for Best Long Haul Airline Flying East.

Off the back of this award, we are proud to launch a new partnership with Emirates Holidays, which will be live next week offering our readers some of the most customised holiday packages available to travel lovers.

The Travel Media Awards 2018 were hosted by well-known travel writers and broadcasters, Fionn Davenport and Deirdre Mullins and Shannon Airport returned as headline sponsor of the awards for the second year.

Declan Power, Head of Aviation Development, Shannon Airport, said: “Following the wonderful success of last year’s awards we were very excited to return as headline sponsors for the Travel Media Awards 2018. This year was bigger, better and even more fun-filled! 2018 has been a great year for Shannon Airport so far – we’re celebrating 20 years with United Airlines, 30 years with Ryanair and 30 years of US pre-clearance through Shannon Airport. We’ve seen great growth over the last five years and look forward to it continuing throughout 2018.”

Commenting on the awards, Michael Collins, MD of, said: “Thank you to everyone who made this afternoon such a special and fun day, especially our headline sponsor Shannon Airport, and a well-deserved congratulations to all our winners, in particular Alan Sparling (ASM Ireland), Richard Burgess (APG) and Tom Travers (Hotel Beacon NYC).”

The full winners list is as follows:

Best Short Haul Airline – Aer Lingus
Best Long Haul Airline Flying West – Aer Lingus
Best Long Haul Airline Flying East – Emirates
Best Airport Lounge (Worldwide) – Turkish Airlines, Istanbul Ataturk Airport
Best Luxury Hotel Group – Hastings Hotel
Best Budget Hotel Group – Clayton Hotels
Best Spa & Leisure Offering – Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa
Best Cruise Company – Royal Caribbean International
Best Ferry Company – Stena Line
Best Canal or River Cruise Company – Uniworld Boutique River Cruises
Best Car Hire Company – Hertz
Best Tour Operator – Sunway
Best Online Travel Agent –
Best Ski Operator – Crystal Ski Holidays
Best Travel Insurance Provider – Blue Insurance
Best City or Short Break Destination – London
Best Destination Representative – Tryphavana Cross
Best Theme Park (Worldwide) – Universal Orlando Resort
Best Tourist Board or CVB – Spanish Tourism Office
Best Use of Social Media by a Travel Company Operating in the Irish Market – Tour America
Best Instagram Account by an Irish Travel Writer or Blogger – @WhereisTaraBlog (Tara Povey)
Best Breakout Irish Travel Writer – Sarah Gascott,
Best Irish Travel Blog – Tom Sweeney’s Travels
Pleasure to Work With 2018 – Tom Travers, Hotel Beacon NYC
Amadeus Innovator Award – Richard Burgess, APG
Shannon Airport Lifetime Achievement Award – Alan Sparling, ASM Ireland

All voting was independently audited and managed by Alex Gibson, DIT.

For more information about The Travel Media Awards, visit

For more travel inspiration, visit Taste Travel.

You may also like...