The Winners of the Irish Whiskey Awards 2017 Have Been Announced

irish whiskey awrds 2017 5

Last Thursday 19th of October, members of the Irish whiskey industry gathered at the Old Jameson Distillery in Bow Street, Dublin, to celebrate excellence and innovation at the Irish Whiskey Awards 2017, the ceremony’s fifth edition.

Bernard Walsh, Founder and Chief Executive of the Walsh Whiskey Distillery was was the night’s guest speaker and before presenting the awards, he spoke to the attendees about the importance of the Irish whiskey industry working together to continue the streak of success the category is experiencing both domestically and internationally.

The winning names of the night showed a combination between well established and new comers. Dublin based Teeling Distillery has won the ‘Irish Whiskey of the Year’ for its Teeling The Revival Single Malt Volume IV. Dingle Distillery won both the Irish Vodka and Irish Gin awards and R&A Merry & Co in Clonmel was chosen as the best Irish Liqueur for its Merry’s Salted Caramel.

Garavan’s in Galway won the overall ‘Irish Whiskey Bar of the Year’ award after four consecutive years of being named Connaught Whiskey Bar of the Year.

Organiser Ally Alpine, owner of the Celtic Whiskey Shop, said: “We are delighted that the Irish Whiskey Awards have become an important date in the whiskey industry’s calendar. Unlike most international awards this is a non-profit making operation that relies on the support and generosity of the producers, my staff and whiskey enthusiasts. The event will also raise enough money to feed 330 kids every day for a year which is an added bonus.”

The event’s charity partner was Mary’s Meals who feed over 1.2 million children a day and recently fed their one billionth child.

irish whiskey awrds 2017 5

The awards were judged in blind tasting sessions by a combination of members of the Celtic Whiskey Club, the Irish Whiskey Society Whiskey and the Cork Whiskey Society. Members of the trade were responsible for judging the white spirit categories of Gin, Vodka, Poitin as well as the Beer and Liqueur categories in a separate tasting session. The Irish Whiskey Award 2017 winners are as follows:

Overall Awards

Irish Whiskey of the Year – Teeling The Revival Single Malt Volume IV
Irish Whiskey Bar of the Year – Garavan’s, Galway


Irish Whiskey Bar of the Year (Munster) – The Folkhouse, Kinsale
Irish Whiskey Bar of the Year (Leinster) – The Dylan Whisky Bar, Kilkenny
Irish Whiskey Bar of the Year (Connaught) – Garavan’s, Galway
Irish Whiskey Bar of the Year (Ulster) – The Duke of York, Belfast
Irish Whiskey Bar of the Year (International) – Seamus O’Dowden’s Irish Pub & Shebeen (Vermont USA)
Irish Single Pot Still Whiskey – Powers John’s Lane
Irish Single Malt Whiskey (12 Years & Younger) – Tyrconnell Madeira Finish 10 Year Old
Single Malt Whiskey (13 Years & Older) – Teeling The Revival Single Malt Volume IV
Irish Blended Whiskey (RRP of less than €60) – Jameson Black Barrel
Irish Blended Whiskey (RRP of €60 or more) Jameson Makers Series – The Cooper’s Croze
Irish Single Cask Whiskey – Cill Airne Cask PX Finish
Irish Cask Strength Whiskey – Tullamore D.E.W. Phoenix
Irish Single Grain Whiskey – Glendalough Triple Barrel
Irish Vodka – Dingle Vodka
Irish Poitin – Bán Poitin
Irish Liqueur – Merry’s Salted Caramel
Irish Gin – Dingle Gin
Irish Whiskey Barrel Aged Irish Craft Beer – Dot Brew Cab Sauv Session

The full list of Awards and Gold Medal winners is available on the Irish Whiskey Awards website.

You may also like...