Beer Writers Susan and Judith Boyle Earned Two Medals from the British Guild of Beer Writers

Wine of the Week from O'Briens: Porta 6 2015

Kildare-based sister duo of beer writers Susan and Judith Boyle were awarded two medals by the British Guild of Beer Writers in recognition to their work on the Leinster Leader, where they publish a column.

The ceremony was held last Thursday December the 1st at the Park Lane Hotel, London and the winners were selected by a prestigious judging panel including people from the brewing and pub trade and specialist media.

Author Pete Brown was named Beer Writer of the Year 2016. Beer Writer of the Year is the top award in the Guild’s annual competition for writing about beer and pubs, which this year received more than 150 entries across nine categories.

Susan and Judith are fifth generation publicans, running Boyle’s Bar and Off-Licence in Kildare Town, and they brew their own beer called Two Sisters Brewing. Judith is a qualified chemist and beer sommelier as well as one of Fáilte Ireland’s 16 food champions. Susan is a playwright, drinks consultant and performer in the one woman show A Wine Goose Chase.

Together, they took home a bronze medal for Beer and Food Writing and silver for Best Regional Beer Writing.

Breandán Kearney, last year’s Beer Writer of the Year and chairman of judges for the 2016 competition, said:

“We’re delighted that prizes have been awarded not just to established beer writers, but to new, less-known communicators, as each entry is judged on its merits and its ability to further the Guild’s mission of extending public knowledge and appreciation of beer and pubs”.

The winners and runners up in each category were announced at the Guild’s annual dinner in which more than 200 guests enjoyed a four-course dinner prepared by chef Andrew Bennett, with each dish accompanied by a specially selected beer: Bad Seed Brewery’s Hefeweizen; Beavertown’s Black Betty IPA, Serpent from Thornbridge Brewery and Ampleforth Abbey’s Dubbel. Other beers from the Award’s sponsoring brewers were sampled before and after dinner.

See the full list of winners:

Brewer of the Year: Richard Westwood, Marston’s

There’s A Beer For That Award for Best Beer Broadcaster

Winner: Radio 4’s The Food Programme

Silver Award: Lucy Stevenson and Louise Mulroy

Badger Ales Award for Best Young Beer Writer of the Year

Winner: Jacopo Mazzeo

Silver Award: Joshua Farrington

St Austell Brewery Award for Best Beer & Travel Writer

Winner: Mark Dredge

Silver Award: John Holl

Guild Award for Best Beer Writer – Corporate Communications

Winner: Carlsberg UK

Shepherd Neame Classic Collection Award for Best Beer & Food Writer

Winner: Mark Dredge

Silver Award: Adrian Tierney-Jones

Caledonian Brewery Award for Best Beer Communicator – Online

Winner: Jonny Garrett

Silver Award: Will Hawkes

Fuller’s 1845 Award for Best Beer Writer – Trade Media 

Winner: Pete Brown

Silver Award: Nigel Huddleston

Adnams Award for Best Beer Writer – Regional Media

Winner: Alastair Gilmour

Silver Award: Susan & Judith Boyle

Molson Coors Award for Best Beer Writer – National Media

Winner: Pete Brown

Silver Award: Sophie Atherton

The Michael Jackson Gold Tankard for Beer Writer of the Year 2016: Pete Brown

More information

You may also like...