40 chefs, 17 countries: The Surprise International Restaurant Swap is Back

The Grand Gelinaz! Shuffle Two (2)

Thursday, November 10th 2016 will see the return of a food project like no other: the international ‘restaurant shuffle’. 40 chefs from 17 countries are taking part in The Grand Gelinaz! Shuffle Two (2), and for one night will be swapping lives, identities and restaurants.

From Japan to Chile, from Brazil to Slovenia, France, Singapore, Russia, Thailand, Australia, Germany, Portugal, UK, Italy, Peru, and Denmark and all throughout the United States, 40 of the world’s most pioneering chefs, will cook simultaneously across continents and time zones in this one-off worldwide restaurant swap.

Pushing chefs outside their comfort zones, 2015’s inaugral Grand Gelinaz! Shuffle saw 37 chefs from across the globe swap restaurants, homes and personal lives for four days. This year organisers hope to push the boundaries even further by coordinating the shuffle of a larger number of chefs even further across the globe.

The Grand Gelinaz! Shuffle Two (2)

So, how does the international restaurant shuffle work?

Restaurants will be allocated to each chef in a global lottery, who will discover his or her new restaurant location several weeks before the event. They will then work with the host kitchen’s staff, to come up with a unique, eight-course menu that combines their own culinary approach with the local produce and culture of their location.

The dinner will be held simultaneously, across the globe, on November 10th 2016. Only on that day will the public find out who will be cooking at which restaurant.

Last year saw top chefs like Alain Ducasse, Alex Atala, René Redzepi and David Thompson swap restaurants and countries for a night.

The Grand Gelinaz! Shuffle Two (2)

The chefs participating in The Grand Gelinaz! Shuffle Two (2) are: Alex Atala, Inaki Aizpitarte, Massimiliano Alajmo, José Avillez, Massimo Bottura, Danny Bowien, Sean Brock, Manu Buffara, Daniel Burns, Riccardo Camanini, Paul Carmichael, Dominique Crenn, Sven Elverfeld, Anand Gaggan, Adeline Grattard, Sean Gray, Rudolfo Guzman, Zaiyu Hasegawa, Dan Hunter, Mikael Jonsson, Christopher Kostow, Virgilio Martinez, Carlo Mirarchi, Vladimir Mukhin, Yoshihiro Narisawa, Matt Orlando, Christian Puglisi, Dave Pynt, René Redzepi, Niko Romito, Ana Ros, Alexandre Silva, Ben Shewry, Bo Songivsava, David Thompson, Lee Tiernan, Simone Tondo, Mitsuharu Tsumura, Blaine Wetzel, Jock Zonfrillo

Ticket sales for all 40 participating restaurants began on September 21st on www.gelinaz.com, with most restaurants selling out almost immediately.

The project is the initiative of Gelinaz!, a collective of world wide cutting edge chefs willing to share knowledge and dynamite culinary languages together.

You may also like...